Forest Park

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Yesterday I spent the day at Forest Park. At 1,300 acres, Forest Park is one of the largest parks set in an urban environment in the U.S., surpassing New York’s Central Park by 500 acres. The world fair in 1904 was held here at the historic Forest Park, attracting over 20 million people for the Worlds Fair. These days Forest Park has 12 million yearly visitors. On this park you will find, two golf courses,  a Boeing aviation field, a cricket field, the St. Louis zoo, the worlds fair pavilion, the Muny (a historic outdoor theater), the Jewelbox (a huge and gorgeous green house from the 1900’s), McDonnel Planetarium, and the world class Art Museum.I could spend three-four days walking around this park and seeing everything like I want to, but I was only able to see two of those things, the historic art museum and the Worlds Fair pavilion to attend this years African Arts festival. I really enjoyed my time spent that the AAF. There were numerous of people there selling anything from hand crafted jewelery, hand woven fabrics, natural oils, and hand carved animals. Outside of the pavilion you will find only the best food ever anything all across the continent of African, I had Jamaican and Egyptian food with hand squeezed lemonade to quench my thirst from the heat and long hours on my feet, all way to delicious for my own good. The grounds were so beautifully kept, I ate my packed lunch right in front of the museum (before I went to AAF festival) during my lunch I watched a proposal and a wedding happen in close range from where I was sitting. It was a beautiful day and I was so happy to have experienced those moments and also see a big piece of history from the 1920’s Worlds Fair

Leave a comment